Welder Qualifications

Welder Qualifications

Welder Qualifications / Welding Tickets

The technicians at Weldtest New Zealand provide Welding Certifications and welding tickets throughout New Zealand.

In addition to welder certifications, we offer procedure qualification record (PQR) and the development of weld procedure specification (WPS). This is for all welders requiring testing to weld procedures under the applicable welding standard.

We specialise in providing welder qualifications and welding tickets for the welding of materials under all relevant standards. These include but are not limited to: AS/NZS 2980 (supersedes NZS 4711 and NZS 4703), ISO 9606 – all parts, ASME IX and so on.

Welder Qualification: Technical Information

The two most common welder qualification standards are primarily AS/NZS 2980 and ISO 9606-1. Both these standards provide welder qualifications for the welding of carbon steel (mild steel), low and high alloy steels.

AS/NZS 2980 had its first edition in 2007. This standard replaced the original NZS 4711- Qualification tests for metal-arc welders. And replaced NZS 4703 – Welder qualification tests for stainless steel pipe for the dairy industry.

ISO 9606-1:2012 and earlier editions, were thought better suited for the European and American welding standards.

Where as AS/NZS 2980:2007 was developed for NZ and Australia.

The release of AS/NZS 2980:2007 was highly advantageous to manufacturers. Being that welders are no longer required to complete test pieces in all positions. Whereas it had been mandatory under the NZS 4711 standard.

Welcome in the 2018 edition of AS/NZS 2980:2018

Firstly, the new standard now requires welders to make more than one test piece. Providing they require an all position qualification range. In addition, fillet welds require a separate test piece also, unless a certain joint prep is used for a butt weld.

Validation is no longer required every two years. A a successful candidate will now earn a three year certification. With the option of re-validation every two years.

The 2018 edition runs almost symmetrical to our next welding qualification standard discussed – AS/NZS ISO 9606-1:2017

Prior to 2017, ISO 9606-1:2012 was a popular choice for an alternative welder qualification to AS/NZS 2980. However, this standard was generally seen as to Europeanised for the Australian and New Zealand steel welding industries.

Enter AS/NZS ISO 9606-1:2017 – Qualification Testing of Welders – Fusion Welding Part 1: Steels.

This standard has been developed to best accommodate the New Zealand and Australian industries. It is also widely accepted through out Europe, America and many other parts of the world.

It requires a higher acceptance criteria than the current edition of AS/NZS 2980:2018. However it has all the same range of qualifications and certification periods.

For all position qualification range under AS/NZS 2980:2018, an over head plate must be produced as well as vertical. Fillet weld qualification, requires a supplementary fillet to be produced unless a single bevel to square butt prep is used. This is the same requirement as AS/NZS ISO 9606-1:2017.

Successful candidates will achieve certification for 3 years and revalidation option every 2 years. For manufactures operating under an audited ISO 3834 quality manual, there is the option to revalidate every six months inhouse.